Michigan’s overreaching Democrat Governor Gretchen Whitmer is giving Michigan residents a close up look at what it means to have a leader of a state with unbridled power.
Today, Governor Whitmer announced a new, restrictive and punitive executive order that will affect every citizen who dares to come out from hiding under their beds from the COVID pandemic.
WXYZ reports – According to the governor’s office, the order also requires any business that is open to the public to refuse entry or service to people who refuse to wear a face mask, with limited exceptions.
“Michigan’s fight against COVID-19 is nowhere near over, which is why it’s so important that we all do our part and wear masks when we’re out in public,” said Chief Medical Executive and DHHS Chief Deputy for Health Dr. Joneigh Khaldun. “Wearing a mask or face covering can significantly decrease the chance of spreading COVID-19 and save lives. It’s important that all Michiganders wear masks properly – not down around the neck, not only over the mouth, but correctly over the mouth and nose. Please everyone stay patient, and remain vigilant.”
Under the order, businesses must also post signs instructing customers of the legal obligation to wear a face mask.
According to AP correspondent David Eggert, Governor Whitmer is also threatening businesses with losing their licenses if they don’t enforce her rules. Curiously, Governor Whitmer has exempted “those giving a speech” (think MI governors who campaign for Democrat presidential candidates in her state) from her order.
Businesses that don't comply and deny entry to maskless customers risk losing their license, per Whitmer's order. There are exceptions from wearing mask – kids under age 5, people eating/drinking at restaurant, clergy officiating a service, law enforcement, those giving a speech
— David Eggert (@DavidEggert00) July 10, 2020
Those who are exempt include people who are younger than 5 years old, those who can’t medically tolerate a face covering and those who are eating or drinking while seated at a restaurant.
The order goes into effect at 12:01 a.m. Monday and a willful violation is subject to a misdemeanor with a $500 penalty.