Rep. Kelly Armstrong (R-ND), North Dakota’s lone House member, announced he will not seek re-election.

Instead, Armstrong launched a bid for North Dakota governor after Gov. Doug Burgum said he would not seek a third term.

“North Dakotans will always do better when we are in charge of our own destiny. I’m running for Governor to take our state to the next level,” Armstrong said.


The Hill reports:

Armstrong’s announcement marks the first formal declaration in what’s expected to be a competitive race among Republicans for the party’s gubernatorial nomination.

In a statement Tuesday, the North Dakota Republican touted his past five years of work in the House and how this will carry over if elected to lead the Peace Garden State.


“There’s one thing I’ve learned in that time, the solutions to our biggest challenges are not going to come from Washington,” Armstrong said. “North Dakotans will always do better when we are in charge of our destiny. That’s why I’ve decided to come home to run for Governor.”

“I’ll take the experience I’ve gained fighting for North Dakota in DC, to help increase opportune city and success here in our state,” he continued. “And I am excited to get back here and work with people who are interested in finding solutions not exploiting problems for political gain.”

Armstrong’s office told The Hill he will continue to serve in the House of Representatives to complete his term while he runs for governor.

Per Axios:

Armstrong makes seven House Republicans announcing in January that they won’t seek reelection to the House.

That includes longtime members with seniority on powerful committees, such as Reps. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-Mo.) and Doug Lamborn (R-Colo.).

Just one of the other six, Rep. John Curtis (R-Utah), is leaving to run for higher office, with the rest announcing no immediate future plans.

Rep. Bill Johnson (R-Ohio) resigned to become president of Youngstown State University. His resignation, which took effect on Monday, brings Republicans to just 219 seats to Democrats’ 213.

Join The Conversation. Leave a Comment.

We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, profanity, vulgarity, doxing, or discourteous behavior. If a comment is spam, instead of replying to it please click the ∨ icon below and to the right of that comment. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain fruitful conversation.