According to reports, Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) announced Tuesday evening he will not attempt to reclaim the position of House Speaker.

The House of Representatives voted 216-210 to remove McCarthy as House Speaker Tuesday.

JUST IN: Kevin McCarthy Removed as House Speaker


In addition to Matt Gaetz, Andy Biggs of Arizona, Ken Buck of Colorado, Tim Burchett of Tennessee, Eli Crane of Arizona, Bob Good of Virginia, Nancy Mace of South Carolina, and Matt Rosendale of Montana voted to remove McCarthy.

“I take no lecture on asking patriotic Americans to weigh in and contribute to this fight from those who would grovel and bend knee for the lobbyists and special interests who own our leadership,” Gaetz said.


Per NBC News:

Rep. Kevin McCarthy, R-Calif., announced Tuesday night that he won’t attempt to reclaim his post as House speaker, hours after he was ousted in a historic vote.


“I will not run for speaker again. I’ll have the [Republican] conference pick somebody else,” McCarthy said in remarks to the press following a closed-door meeting with GOP lawmakers.

Just the News added:

A source familiar with the matter confirmed to Just the News that McCarthy was removing his name from consideration when the House convenes to select a new speaker.

The California lawmaker became the first speaker ever removed by the House on Tuesday after a group of eight dissident Republicans voted with Democrats to boot him from his post.

Florida Republican Rep. Matt Gaetz, with whom he had long feuded, led the effort to force a leadership change in the lower chamber.

This story is developing. 

Join The Conversation. Leave a Comment.

We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, profanity, vulgarity, doxing, or discourteous behavior. If a comment is spam, instead of replying to it please click the ∨ icon below and to the right of that comment. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain fruitful conversation.